Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Oh, Hawaii.

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.” 

-Terry Pratchett

 

Today marks a year since I've moved to Hawaii. I cried my eyes out as soon as my family was out of sight. Once on the plane, there was no holding those tears back. I was so angry at Nick for making me leave! Furious. As I stared out over the ocean with the tears running down my face I regretted ever considering calling Hawaii my home. I sat in silence the whole flight. If I wasn't crying, I was sleeping. I'm pretty sure I cried myself to near dehydration. Haha.

I've learned that this is my new life. This is my fault for marrying a Marine. No matter where you go, there's always some place you call home. And this Marine I married, really wanted to come home after five years. I respect that. I now understand it's his time to enjoy being at home like I did for my entire life. But now home has taken on a new definition. Home is... now our HOME.

Yep, we're homeowners! It isn't a dream home, but it's definitely a perfect starter home. 1272 sq ft of living space, three bedrooms, two and a half baths, two car garage with an extra parking stall on the side of the house... It isn't a fully detached home like we planned on getting, but with the real estate in Hawaii being super expensive and I not wanting to spend more than 400k (even though we did) I really wanted to stay frugal. Somewhat. Haha. The condo we bought is the most expensive one in the neighborhood. Yikes. I'm kind of angry about that, but as soon as I walk into the yard I remember just WHY it cost us so much. Haha. Anyway, here I am rambling about the house... There's so much more to update.

The wedding went well enough. Reserved half the grand ballroom for the Hawaii reception. Luckily, the people who reserved it before us had not made their security deposit for a month so they gave it to us. Helps that Nick's mother also knows all the planners there so they were more than eager to please us or lose business. 

The California one was.... a small bit of a disaster. For one, the catering company was retarded and overcharged us for not enough food even though the number of people we gave them was over what actually showed up. I also ended up passing out from the heat during photos. Hahaha. Wearing all the traditional Korean garb overheated me. I just remember a tear rolling down my cheek... and then I was waking up on the floor practically naked with a bunch of ladies fanning me. Yuuuppp.. Not one of my most proudest moments, but definitely wish someone had recorded it! Last thing I needed was to be carted off in an ambulance. I manned up and walked out of there! With some help of course. Hahaha.

I feel like now we can actually START our married life. The house was just to start. And it's in a PERFECT neighborhood to have children. Yeah, this youngin' has been thinking about kids. I've always wanted them. Now almost everyone around me is expecting or just had a baby. But for me, I know that's not going to be for another... at least five years. Although the pressure is on, this body ain't poppin' no babies out ANYTIME soon. Unless the big man upstairs surprises us(:

Got a job at Coach, the bag store. Could definitely be better but as a starter job, I think I get paid fairly well. More than some of the others anyway. I work as one of their translators. I'm just so awesome with customer service I can't seem to stay away from jobs that revolve around customer satisfaction (sarcasm). I really want a second job though. Something more, ME. Maybe at a local pet store or something. But I know I really need to go back to school. I've been putting it off for way too long.

I got accepted into both Universities I wanted to attend. Hawaii Pacific University and University of Hawaii Manoa. HPU offered me a scholarship, but being that it's a private university I'd still have to pay half that tuition out of pocket. Not to mention, it's on the other side of the island. The University of Hawaii Manoa campus was just more budget friendly. UHM is only an hour's drive; half the drive time to HPU. (Granted, we did think about buying a house on the other side of the island so I'd be closer to the school and he closer to work. But I would've had to quit my job.) But I still need to get a medical clearance. My mother misplaced my immunizations record during her move. I should really get on that.... :/

What else has happened.... I guess that's all the big points. Oh, my parents moved. Leslie's coming to visit next month and Stella the month after. Sometime in between I hope to get in a trip home. Airfare is so cheap right now. :) I'm also SCUBA certified! So I plan on diving up north in Cali when I go visit.

I miss you, Cali. But this girl will be back soon enough.

Nick's promised me a home in Cali, too. He's requesting to get stationed back in CA so I can be close to my parents. We might just bounce back and forth for the rest of his time in the Corps. Hopefully, he'll get a chance to go to Korea so I have an excuse to visit. xD

Oh, Hawaii....

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Catch-up!

Wow, it's been months since I've last posted. So much has happened! There's so much to write about and I doubt I'll even hit the tip of the iceberg on it.

Guess there are a few main things. And one big secret. ;) But I can't announce that just yet because I'm sure people who shouldn't know will read this and rat me out!

Anyway, let's see... Nick and I have officially announced our engagement. The wedding is in approximately a year. In his home state, Hawaii. There will be two receptions. One in Hawaii for his family, and one in SoCal for my family and friends. I already got my dress. A beautiful Vera Wang. As soon as I walked out of my dressing room to astonished gasps and silenced the whole room of other to-be brides, I knew I'd found my dress even before I saw myself in the mirror! Hahaha. I've got a few pictures of it, but am limiting who gets to actually SEE it. They're just gonna have to wait till the wedding(:

I've moved up to Pacific Grove, CA. Off the Monterey Bay peninsula. I am literally surrounded by the ocean. But it's so cold up here I can't appreciate it as much as I would in SoCal. But it IS gorgeous. We have a two bedroom apartment, the other room we use for storage and a guest room (only had a cousin visit once and stay over. Parents came but left the same night.). I can't say it's a great apartment, but it's right down from one of the gates to the base Nick works at. So that's a perk. Not that he can walk to base/home in his uniform anyway. He'll be leaving for Texas soon, and I've decided to move back down into my parents' home while he's there for his extra training. His LAT move into this MOS has been pretty interesting. My mother loves being able to brag about his ability to speak Korean with family and friends. She also loves being able to speak to him in Korean and him being able to understand it - for the most part. Hahaha. So, we should be back in Hawaii by February. Well, he'll be. I haven't decided on if I want to finish school here, or there. Going to the University of Hawaii Manoa would be too easy I think. No offense, but look at their public education system. Haha. Sorry, but it's true. But we'll see. I'm waiting on word from CSUPomona and Long Beach. But my first choice is Pomona. Blah, ramble!

What else, what else... Ah! Wedding planning is so stressful. I've already booked a reception hall, but have yet to book a church. I know who I want to hire for photography and I know my wedding colors (i think!). It's really hard to do this all from out of state. I'm sure it'll be easier when I move there a few months prior to handle everything. Haven't planned anything yet for the second reception in SoCal though. I was thinking of renting the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Open Seas exhibit, but it won't fit enough people, and it'd be quite a drive for most. So, that was out. I'm going to have to start looking into venues. Arghhhh!

Oh! So I won a trip to South Korea via Hawaiian Air. I was their mainland winner. On their Twitter they asked, "If you won a trip to Korea what would you discover? Answer for your chance to win an all expense paid trip!" Or something of that sort. So I answered honestly. I said something along the lines of how I would love to meet family there because the last time I visited was when I was 5. Next thing I know I get a message asking me for contact information, then a phone call announcing I was the mainland winner. I couldn't believe it. I've never won anything in my life! I was in the middle of a shower when they called and ran out into the living room with nothing on but a towel to tell my sister I just won a trip to Korea. Who in turn didn't believe me. No one did! That was pretty awesome. They flew me out to Hawaii to take part in the Inaugural Flight party thing and there was cake, hula dancers, a monk to bless the plane, beverages and famous people. I decided to take Nick's mother with me on the trip (they paid for me and whoever I picked as long as they had a valid passport) and I have to admit she was a pretty awesome traveling companion. I was nervous about hanging out with her throughout my time to Hawaii and Korea, but she was real chill. We told the news channel that I was her future daughter in law (which wasn't official at the time, we just figured it'd sound better on public television). But yeah, the trip was definitely awesome. Besides the fact that the four days we went were the coldest in Korea's history for the past 30 years, we were just peachy! My jeans would be freezing in the wind, and even wearing every item of clothing I packed wouldn't help. We would wake up in the mornings with ice more than a few inches thick lining the windows of our 17th floor room. Haha. But I seriously cannot express how awesome the trip was and how much I enjoyed it despite freezing my ass off the whole time. I was able to see two of my aunts, a cousin (who drove us around the city) his wife, and his son. His son is so adorable. Oh! And the Hawaii winners ended up being Rhoe who brought Lance, her boyfriend, who was also Nick's mother's student during his high school years! So on our last day we all bonded together and traveled around Seoul by train. And Lance himself is a photographer who works for the studio I plan to hire for the wedding.

After I got back from Korea I hung out with the friends in Hawaii for a week before flying back to SoCal, then moving in with Nick up here in CenCal.

I did a spring and summer semester here. I finally have my associate's and look forward to actually being able to continue my education. Due to the upcoming move, I was forced to take this semester off. I didn't wanna live up here by myself during his absence, and I couldn't land any classes at a community college down south. So I figure I should be blogging a lot more. Perhaps(:

I'm sure I'm missing quite a bit but I really wanna swing by the commissary halfway across the bay. Nick had duty last night and is knocked out beside me, his hand on my head. Why? No idea. I suppose I can drag him with me if he wants to go. Haha.

Anyway, stay frosty folks. ;)


___

Edit: My dear! Correction. It's been a year the last time I posted. Hahaha.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

A Confession.

I came to realize last night that...

I've talked to doctors. Three of them to be exact. The first one, a psychologist, told me to talk to a therapist on a regular basis. She said I may not feel any of it now, but in due time it could start haunting me and hurting my relationships. That eventually the guilt might eat up at me and keep me from trusting people.

She was right. It's been almost two years since i've spoken to her.

The second one told me if I started having nightmares and such, it'd be normal. That the pain and suffering I was going through was normal. However, he told me that if it kept up I would have to go see a specialized therapist.

I ignored the advice from him too.

The third doctor I spoke with, I spoke to her a few months back. She told me what I was experiencing was normal, yes. That I would probably be living with it for the rest of my life. But she told me there was hope. That talking to a therapist or going to group therapy with others like myself would help me. That it wasn't too late for me to get help before it overran my thoughts and my life.

Can you guess what I did? I ignored her too.

But last night, it has come to my attention that ... it's true. I need help.

My confession? I won't get into detail about it. Not here, not now. Now is not the time.

I guess this is kinda why I have so much pity for our members in the military returning from a war zone where they've seen things and experienced things we civilians have the privileged of not seeing/experiencing. The nightmares, the flashbacks... all of it. I know how it feels. I know what it's like to wake up kicking, screaming and crying in the middle of the night. To have those flashbacks. To freeze in the middle of a movie or anything because something triggers that memory.

I may be young, but I've seen enough PTSD to understand what it does to it's victims.

And I? Yes. I'm a victim as well.

I have PTSD.

I don't want to admit it, and I've always put it off, but it's been two years. The dreams still seem just as vivid as always, I still experience the flashbacks.


I feel like i've already said too much when i've barely said anything at all. One baby step at a time. PTSD ruins lives, yes. But I won't let it ruin mine. Maybe I'll get into detail about this some other time. We'll see.

Other than that, I'm alive and well.

Monday, June 21, 2010

Last Three days in Paradise

So I don't really remember my last few days, but I do know I enjoyed them and I miss that place, horrid.

Saturday June 5, 2010.
Breakfast with Andrea went GREAT! Her daughter, Aria, was absolutely ADORABLE. She loved us apparently. Lol. She didn't want to say goodbye and kept crying whenever we tried to put her back into the car seat so that they could go. Andrea herself was really nice(: I like her. She said she was bummed out I wasn't staying longer or being stationed there so she'd actually have someone else to talk to. (Her other close friend had just been stationed elsewhere.) She has other friends, but I guess she wouldn't mind having another asian female around that her daughter enjoys being with. Along with Nick of course. Hahaha. Aria really liked Nick. It was so cute!

After breakfast we headed to the other side of the island and visited the Polynesian Cultural Center (PCC). I've been before, but Nick hadn't gone in forever and kept persisting we went. The drive out was beautiful. Past Chinaman's hat, Kualoa Ranch, Lionhead, and finally to PCC. Nick got an annual pass (which was completely pointless because he won't even have time to be home for the next year and a half. but the lady INSISTED it was cheaper so... we did it.) We took the canoe tour first, and walked around the place and took a few pictures. We watched my favorite Samoa show thing (I've been there 4 years ago, same guy runs the show!) and after Nick tried for at least half an hour to start fire! It was hilarious. Three different guys checked in on him. One of them came up to us like, "Hey brah, you okay? You've been at it for some time now." Hahahaha. They were all really friendly though. Later, Nick got picked to participate in one of the family shows in Samoa. It was a firemaking contest - what Nick had been working at for probably 40 mins by then. Lol. He got up there, beat the other guy (who was Navy), but didn't exactly MAKE fire. It was a timed competition and Nick at least got his pile smoking, the other white guy? Nothing. Hahahaha. Anyway, so they called up the real Samoans to do it, Nick and Navy guy were paired up with one each and their partners started racing to make fire. Nick's guy, an ex-Army guy, wasn't able to beat the other Samoan guy, butttttttt, who cares. He didn't give up and that's what matters! Woot! Anyway, after the contest they made them dance. This is where things get HILARIOUS. They weren't told they had to dance, so they were forced to. Navy guy and his paired Samoan dude were just doing traditional stuff. Nick's guy however, ex-Army guy, hahahaha.. had a better idea. He entwined the traditional like dance with body slapping and... (this is the funny part) decided to call Nick out in a pushup contest. Nick was confused when the guy got down into the push up position, but he eventually got down and started matching the guy push up, for push up. Ex-Army man started doing claps inbetween, so Nick did too. But he did the guy one better. He did one where he clapped BEHIND his back. The audience (myself included) found this impressive. Ex-Army Samoan dude decides to do the same. He pushes up, claps behind his back with a BIG smile on his face, but before he can put his hands back down... HE FACEPLANTS. Oh dear, it was the FUNNIEST moment of the day. The best part? I CAUGHT IT ALL ON VIDEO. It's on Facebook if you'd like to watch. Freaking HILARIOUS. The poor guy was so embarrassed he got up, continued the traditional dance with Nick, and after the show walked off the stage in a different direction as I was asking if I could get a picture of him and Nick together. I mean, this guy was BIGGG. Like, knock-you-out-in-one-hit, big. His arms were probably twice the size of my thighs. Good lookin' fellow. Hahaha. I just find it hilarious he'd pick on Nick, who wasn't even nearly twice his size or weight! It's because he thought he was better than Nick the Marine. I'm sure he could've beat the white Navy guy though. Lol. xD Just jokes.

After that, we came home to go fishing with Kevin (again), but instead we went out to dinner with Nick's parents at some Korean place. It wasn't as good as I would've liked it to be, but it'll do. After that I think Nick and I went home and knocked out..? I don't remember.

According to my twitter, we went for a stroll in Waikiki with his friends! Oh, that was SO much fun!!! Gilbert has the CUTEST little Corolla! I mean, it's REALLY nice. I'm not a fan of suped up Corollas but this one, it was just FANTASTIC! I wish i'd gotten a picture of it. Hahaha. It wasn't like, overdone, it was just right. Manual transmission. Full leather interior. The little GPS screen thing that was full touch, large, and folds out. The lights in the interior were nice too. Anyway, yeah, I won't talk about the walk much besides the fact that I really enjoyed spending time with his friends. Justin, Gilbert, Jason, and Nick. (: It was a fantastic, memorable night. Hahaha.

Went to dinner at some Korean place again. That was fun too(: Lol.

Sunday, June 6, 2010.
Woke up in the morning, Kevin packed the poles, and we headed out to Sea Life Park area for spearfishing. We met up with Jay (the guy who said he'd have to watch while I tried on the bathing suits) and Jason drove Kevin, Nick and I out there. We also met up with some female (forgot her name) and a guy friend of hers. As we headed out deeper into the water, I felt a sudden burning, very painful stinging sensation on my right hand. I had just released my spear at a fish so I figured it'd just rubbed my skin the wrong way. But it didn't make sense, my hand wasn't red or anything. I figured I was imagining the pain but it only worsened. No one else around me seemed to have mentioned the pain, but they were at least ten yards away. As I quickly thought of what might be wrong it came to mind that it could be a jellyfish that had stung me. So... I peed on it. Sorta. I mean, i'm still swimming in the water so I did what I could. Call it gross, but it helped a little bit. Eventually, the pain I was trying hard to ignore went away and I continued to look for fish to spear. I speared one - on accident. I freaked out and was nearly in tears as I frantically searched for Nick to get it off my spear. It was so young, I felt HORRIBLE. There was a bigger fish in front of it but it'd darted away and the small one behind it hadn't even seen me, nor I, it. It gets me sad every time I think about it. Anyway, Nick removed it from the prongs of my spear and I had to look away as it made a feeble attempt to swim away from us. I felt so horrible... I can't even put it into words. Anyway, Kevin soon showed up with a fish on his spear and Nick laughed and said the fish he caught wasn't edible. I had to remove his fish from the spear because Nick and Kevin both have a fear of touching live fish. Which makes no sense because I think ... nevermind. Anyway, yeah. I felt bad for that fish too, although it was decent in size.

Ooh! We saw a sea turtle. It was just chilling under a chunk of coral staring at us. I left it alone after a few seconds though. I'm pretty sure there's a law saying we can't swim closer than a certain distance to them.

We finally decided to head in and ... once again, that horrible stinging feeling. It was so shocking I gasped. I looked around me, quickly. Nothing. I was swimming about five feet from Jason so I looked at him to see if he would show any signs of the same stinging I was feeling on the length of my arm. He just looked at me and waved, and continued looking around for fish. The pain was becoming unbearable, I rubbed my arm harshly, thinking it was maybe just something I was imagining. But I knew I wasn't... I swam toward shore, doing my best not to whimper in pain. Feet touched sand. I ripped off my flippers and quickly walked over to where we'd left our things. People seemed to be staring at me, I didn't understand why. I picked up a towel and wrapped myself in it. My arm was still burning. So... I looked at it. A long red line ran from my shoulder to my elbow. I guess that's what people were staring at. I saw Nick starting to swim in so I waded into the water and waved him toward me. He asked me what was up (everyone was talking with other people) and I asked him if there was anything in the water that would sting me. He said sure. I said what. He said, the Portuguese Man o war. I said, "shit". He said "what?" and I showed him my arm. He said, "F***" He turned to his friends behind him and announced I'd been stung by a Man o' War. They all agreed that he should rush me to the 7-Eleven nearby (still like a 10-15 minute drive) to get me some meat tenderizer to take away the pain. I refused continuously. It wasn't something I couldn't handle. It was just pain. As long as I wasn't going to die from it, I'd be fine. The pain, I can handle.

Here's one photo of my sting after it'd been awhile. it stayed red till like the next day after.

Eventually they gave up on trying to make me go so we headed out to where Kevin had set up his poles and was fishing. There was some big blue fish that swam by twice, forgot the name of it. They went nuts wanting to catch it! We even sent Nick back into the water with a spear to wait for it. Hahaha. Eventually, it started getting late and we packed up and left.

On our way back home, we swung by the 7-Eleven to pick up ice for the fish Nick caught. Much to our dismay, however, Jason accidentally locked his keys in the car. After a phone call to his dad, and me trying to look up the number to AAA, we were still stuck. Eventually, I DID find the number to Triple A on my phone (thank God i'd called them a few weeks earlier for someone), and they sent someone out to help us. He had some trouble, but he got it eventually and I bought him a coldddd bottle of SmartWater. He deserved it. Poor guy. Anyway, we tossed the fish, assuming they went bad, and headed home. We got home, and Nick and I did our best to finish packing. His mother had bought me things to take back to the mainland as gifts, and i'm forever thankful for that. I hardly had time to go shopping. Hahahaha.

His friends called, and they wanted to do something. Hit the club, that's what it was. However, we decided not to (although some still went after they swung by to say hi), and started a game of Texas Hold'em. To be honest, I haven't played in forever and practically forgot how to play. I started betting the minimum bets, had Nick help me a few dozen hands, and... Yeah. Hahaha. It was Gilbert, Nick, Jason, and Justin, but Justin left for the club just in time for Kevin to take his place. Kevin K. Not Kevin, Nick's brother. I think Nick ended up falling out first, then it was Kevin and Jason at the same time (I knocked 'em out with one hand. Kevin thought he'd go all in cause he thought he had better cards.) I won that round. Haha. I think they were getting really annoyed that I was winning and only caring about color coding my chips. Eventually, it was just Gilbert and I and he was getting so worked up about beating me. But of course... he failed. I won. hahahaha.

After a bit, everyone hugged us goodbye and left. So, that was that. I really did enjoy my time with everyone though. It was really great, honest.


Monday June 7, 2010.
Woke up early, finished packing up the last minute stuff, and his mom took us to the airport. She hugged us goodbye, and we headed in through the sliding doors. However, we ran into a bit of trouble. The night before while trying to 'Web Check-In', it kept saying I had to use a kiosk. So when we got to the airport, I tried, but it kept telling me I had to talk to an attendant. So I did, and there was some mass confusion. Finally by the time they overrode whatever was happening, the system said it was too late for me to Check in. Soooooooo, eventually, the lady had to manually print my baggage tag. While standing in line for security check in, we realized I had no boarding pass. So we rushed back, where they finally were able to print my boarding pass, and then went through security. Finally we got to boarding and we hopped on. Everything was pretty smooth sailing after that.

We landed at LAX, where Leslie was gonna pick us up. Apparently though I'd only told her that she was only picking ME up when it was both Nick and I. We made it work though. hahaha. Shoved all our crap into her cramped, full car.

Got home, and Nick left soon after. Yeah, that's pretty much the summary of my time in Hawai'i.


Peacee(:

Monday, June 7, 2010

Ah! No time!

Okay, so I have no time to post about the past few days. Hahaha...
I'll post when I get home.

My flight leaves at 8AM tomorrow. I wanna wake up early, clean the room a bit, then finish up packing.

Oh, and I'm so totally in debt right now. >__<

right well, i gotta finish packing now! ttyls.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Diary Day Ten/Eleven

So last night we went fishing. Didn't catch anything, and the night ended like the way it started. Me being annoyed at Nick. I won't bother going into details. We got home early last night but we were all pretty tired still. About 12AM maybe? I'd been feeling kinda sick all night and I ended up puking a bit in the sink. Man, it didn't look like anything I ate. It was like, black, brown and green and looked like chopped up wet tea leaves. Pretty gross. Sorry if that was too TMI for you. (TMI: Too Much Information)

Went to bed.

Friday June 4th, 2010.
Woke up when Nick was leaving for work, he told me his mom was going to pick me up and we were going to go out and pick up some fresh lychee from her friend or something out in some city. She wanted to show me around some more before I leave, I guess. I feel bad, I picked up her call, but hung up on her like ten seconds after. She didn't say anything to me and I heard her talking to someone else so I figured she called me on accident. I was also asleep when she called so the phone vibrating near my head woke me up a bit. I feel bad.... anyway, apparently Nick called me too but I slept through those two other vibrations. Oops? So that was that.

Went back to sleep, then finally woke up again when people started texting me. Returned Nick's call, got the 411, and then decided maybe it was time to get up and do stuff. But, I have yet to. I put my glasses on, and went online. So this is where it ends. Hahaha. I'm on Facebook, chatting, and blogging. I figure i'll get out of bed soon to wash up and shower. Wear one of those new shirts I bought myself. Which reminds me... I need to call my mum and ask her to put more money in my account. xD Eh, i'll get to that later.

Anyway, Nick wants me to come up with a list of things I'd like to do today before we leave Monday morning. I've been REALLY wanting to go to the USS Arizona Memorial. I've seen it from afar (Nick's house overlooks Pearl Harbor and my previous visit to Hawaii I visited the little Pearl Harbor section area thing) and i'd really like to see the inside of the Memorial up close. Along with looking down at the ship of course. But like I've said before, i'm afraid I might get too emotional. I also want to go for a stroll in Aloha Tower and Waikiki. I wouldn't mind visiting the PCC (Polynesian Cultural Center) again, but it's kinda expensive (for non-locals) and I don't wanna make Nick waste any more money on me. I feel bad. Nick also wants to take me to Kualoa (no idea where that is) and the Waikiki Aquarium (driven by that a few times). So, I'm really looking forward to my weekend.

Oh! And we've got an old family friend's son that moved out here a few years back. He got married and settled down here. Sorta. Him and his wife met in the Army and she's out now, but he's still in. I think he might be a lifer. Medic. Over in Afghanistan right now so my prayers for him. I've never met his wife or his kid and she ended up contacting me on Facebook when she saw me post on his wall that I was on Oahu. Not only that but the city she lives in is only about 2o minutes away from where Nick lives! So we swapped numbers and I texted her asking if she'd like to do breakfast, lunch, or dinner sometime. She called back and said she'd love to and we picked a time and place. The IHOP in Pearl City at 10AM this Saturday. I'm excited!! I finally get to meet his family(: (I had the chance before when they came to visit in Cali but was really busy with school)

Really, i'm seriously excited. xD

Anyway, I'm gonna go wash up now because I really need to pee. Until next time, lates!
<3

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Diary Day Eight/Nine/Ten

Let me start off by saying i'm in a kinda annoyed mood. So this should be short and simple.

Tuesday June 1st, 2010.
Nick went to work. When he finished we headed out to North Shore area. Swung by the Dole plantation where I got the "kama'aina" discount. It's a discount that locals get when they show their Hawaii ID. So that was that. We also stopped at Matsumoto's for some shave ice. It's quite popular there and the line was... well, wasn't that long when we went. After that we hit the beach and Kevin caught some waves on his body board while I worked on my tan and Nick did... nothing. We saw some turtles swimming in the water but... didn't get a real clear view. And Nick would like me to mention that we saw some dumb haoles. It's the term for ... well, white people.

Headed home, and uh... that's all I remember for that.

No wait. Okay, we went fishing with Kevin randomly. Checked out a couple locations but they were either closed, fenced off, or just not a good place to fish. We finally went to a place Kevin said would be alright. They call it "China Wall". We set up two poles and they went at it. Kevin ended up catching a scorpion fish. A baby one, and they were freaking out when I said it was poisonous only if you were stung. They kept telling me to just cut the line, but I refused. I didn't want the poor thing to be in pain even more. I soon realized he'd swallowed the hook and I couldn't get it out no matter how much I twisted and tugged (I feared to pull too hard. I didn't want to rip anything). So, I had to cut the line. I tried to throw it back in, but he hit the cliff edge before bouncing off into the water. I felt so bad. ): Anyway, we got back at home around 2AM. Knocked out.

Wednesday June 2nd, 2010.
I can't say I remember clearly, but I don't believe we did anything. Oh, i spent like forever in Hawaiian Island Creation (HIC) looking at stuff. They've got a LOT of neat stuff in there! Nick and I ended up leaving though to pick up some fish for his dad and I didn't make it back in time so I had Kevin set it aside. Oh, Kevin works at HIC so I get his 40% off(:

Wait, backtrack a little bit. Nick was at work, finished, came home, we went to the NEX with Kevin, bought 2 fishing poles (one 10ft one 11ft), and dropped him off at work (where I went shopping.)

Okay, so we picked him up and we went to go night fishing. We again went to a couple locations and finally settled on Bellows Air Force Base. There were roaches and I was freaking the hell out. Not cool. Nick got on my ass about being afraid of them and I argued back with him about touching fish. Oh, btw, Nick and Kevin are afraid of touching fish. I said roaches outrank touching fish ANYDAY. I can't stand roaches. We got home around 2AM again and knocked out.

Thursday June 3rd, 2010.
Today, Nick went to work, I slept in like twenty more minutes, then got ready and went to work with Kevin. I swung by Nick's office to say hi, then went back to the mall to go shopping. It was that or do paperwork for his recruiter. I spent like another three or four hours in HIC shopping. I tried on like 4 different bikinis and eventually settled on one with some help of friends and picture messages. Amazing how far technology has advanced. xD So yeah, I ended up spending like $215. Did I mention i'm totally broke? Yea, I just kinda screwed myself over.

So uh, I think we're gonna go fishing again later tonight. Kevin's bringing his friend and his girlfriend. That'll be fun.

So that's pretty much the update for now.

Peace.